Resources

BURN DAY INFORMATION

Call the Placer County Air Pollution Burn Day Information System at (530) 889-6868 to determine if it is a burn day in your area or for information updated daily by 8 a.m. click here.

If it is a burn day, the only allowable materials are:

As of January, 2004, burn barrels are no longer permited.

For wood chipping information, call: (530) 367-2465

Family Safety Tips

11 Things You Can Do To Improve Your Family’s Safety:

  1. When you reset your clocks each spring and fall, remember to also replace the batteries in your smoke and CO detectors.
  2. Create and practice a home escape plan. Make sure to go over escape routes and a safe place to meet outside the home.
  3. Buckle up! Use properly installed and approved child safety seats (read more from NHTSA). If you need help installing your child safety seat, please stop by the Admin Office and ask for assistance.
  4. Keep a fire extinguisher in the kitchen and garage areas of the home. Check them once a year to insure they are charged and ready for use.
  5. Maintain a defensible space around your home. Stack firewood at least 30 feet away from any structure.
  6. Keep the Placer County Poison Control phone number posted near all phones in the house – 1-800-876-4766
  7. Keep all chemicals/medications out of reach of children.
  8. Take a basic first aid and CPR class. Visit the Sacramento/Sierra Nevada Chapter of the Red Cross Website for class information.
  9. Always wear a helmet when riding a bike.
  10. Mow lawns, fields and clear brush in the early morning hours during fire season.
  11. Always have life vests available for every passenger on your watercraft. California Law requires their use for all children under the age of 11 on watercraft under 26 feet in length. More information here.